unpublished draft from 2010: two days in bed …

… with antibiotics, a Kindle and a 15-minutes attention span. Feels like childhood to me. The Kindle and me got closer these days just as I got infested with the comic books my mother bought when and only when I had to stay in bed.

A friend and discussion partner characterises himself as somebody who reforvents himself permanently – as in forget and reinvent. I am rather the type who resenmemations myself – as in remembers sensations. I’ve been there and I’ve done that. Although it sometimes seems as if it might have happened to another me in another life. This reminds me of the way I’ve come along, which is not as far as I may go – if time and future allows.

OTOH I saw what happens if you don’t change your ways, perceptions and attitudes when a bunch of mentally old men nearly crashed one of my former favorite fora. The big idea was to „have some banners as an aside“. Down the right margin of a turntable forum in German. No big money, but lots of opposition from forum members. The uprising was first fueled by patronizing condescension from „Officials“ and then quenched by the moderation board.

Nobody ever even considered thinking about benefits to forum members and consequently banner customers. Nobody even listened (or read) when I tried to develop some scheme to try to benefit all parties.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

